Sesame Cookies

Most people crave chocolate chip cookies at night, me, I got a hankering for friggin’ sesame cookies! The best part, I was fully prepared to make them–I mean, what person has at least 1 cup of sesame seeds on hand at any given time?!? If you never had these, they’re bangin’, eat ’em alone, after dinner with espresso, for breakfast, or, my fave–dunk ’em in coffee! Only three weeks into the new year and already my resolutions are out the window. Oh well, rules are made to be broken and food, well, it’s made to be eaten…and when it’s as good as this, it’s a sin not to indulge.

The cookies turned out great.  Firm,  sweet, buttery, nutty, and a little soft in the center. Also, these are great if you add a little citrus zest. I attempted to zest some clementines, but it didn’t work out to well. If you have an orange on hand zest about 1T and toss it into the cookie dough.

–Recipe Pictorial–

Not the right measuring cup, but I thought this pic came out dope.

Toss your sugars and butter into a mixer fitted with a whisk

Cream

Combine flour, salt, and baking powder-NOT SODA

I’ve made this mistake before…not cool

Mix eggs and vanilla together

Combine…

…until thick and stiff

You would addthe zest @ this pt.

Start to add flour a little at a time

Mixture will form a dough

Plop it out onto a floured surface and fold over onto itself a few times to shape into a ball

You can refrigerate @ this point to firm up

Or, if you’re impatient like me start shaping cookies now

Put sesame seeds into a shallow bowl

Fill a wide mouth mug up with milk

You’re going to break off 1T size balls and shape into little loaves

Dip in milk then roll in sesame seeds

Line on wax paper spaced about 1″

Bake @ 375F for 20-25mins. Bake longer for crispier cookies

Prepare to indulge.

–Ingredients–

3C AP flour

2 sticks of butter softened

3/4C Vanilla or plain sugar

1/4 C Brown sugar

1 1/4t Vanilla extract

3 Eggs beaten

1/4t Kosher salt

2 1/2t Baking powder

1C Milk

1C Sesame seeds

Wax paper to line cookie trays

1T Orange zest (optional)

Makes about 2 Dz

6 responses to “Sesame Cookies

  1. These look yummy. And they’re totally healthy because they’ve got sesame seeds, right? hahaha

  2. Hi Joe – you got a great site here. Love the recipe pictorial. I always have sesame seeds in my kitchen and these cookies have my name stamped all over em.

  3. These look really good — and I just happen to have a lot of sesame seeds on hand right now…

  4. Oh I begged my cousin to make these for Christmas! They look superb. I had to smile, “friggin’ sesame cookies”… now that expression reminds me of home 🙂

  5. These look great! I love anything sesame 😛

Leave a Reply

