effin’ White Bread

I once experimented in college (No, not that kind of experimenting). I walked down the bread aisle and checked the ingredients of every single loaf of bread determined to find one without trans fat and/or high fructose corn syrup. To my surprise, they ALL had them. Annoyed, I vowed never to buy supermarket bread again. I eventually caved in, but had to shop at Whole Foods just to find a decent loaf. Luckily, bread makers, forced to comply with new FDA regulations, had to take the trans fat out of bread and today you can find descent loaves at the local supermarket. That’s great for convenience and all, but if you want some seriously good white bread…make your own. Fresh baked bread is on another level. You just can’t get this taste in supermarket bread, I promise. It’s easy. You can also make a huge batch and just break and bake as you need–The Artisan Bread in 5 method.

The loaf I’m featuring in this post is like white bread married a croissant and bore a child. My recipe was inspired by artisan bread in 5. I just tweaked it a little, you know because I like to make it my own…

You will need:

7C AP unbleached flour

3C warm water

1 Stick melted butter + more for the top (I use salted)

1.5T Kosher Salt

1.5T Granulated yeast

2T Vanilla infused sugar

Large container to store dough

9x4x3 in. NON stick loaf pan or Pyrex

Go ahead and melt the butter in the mic @ 30sec intervals

Add melted butter to warm water

Toss in your vanilla infused azucar

And your yeast…nice action shot huh? lol

And in goes the salt…

Mix really well.

Good thing for Kitchen Aid stand mixers…cuz this is a pain to mix with a wooden spoon

Julia Child’s is probably laughing and calling me a wuss for saying that

Dough will be shaggy. Don’t knead

Add a pad of butter to the bowl and toss the dough in.

Roll it around in the butter like a pig in mud

Cover and let rise for a couple hrs or until doubled

Now’s a good time to catch up on all your DVR’d shows

Break off a nice big chunk and store the rest of the dough in the fridge for ~week

Liberally butter a NON STICK loaf pan Pyrex and let rise for ~40mins

Once risen, slash top with a bread knife

Than lather about 1T of butter on top

After baking at 350F for ~45mins, or until golden brown, or until thermo reads ~200F

or until a little voice says it’s done dammit! Go ahead and take it out and rack cool it

By the way, your house will smell amazing!

Put on that straight jacket and wait ~20mins for it to cool completely

It’s time to slice…

It’s time to savor. Those @ home, it’s time to envy.

That right there is pure, unadulterated, down right wholesome, buttery,

fluffy, croissant-ish, white bread

Now cut another slice offSmell it and tell me it doesn’t remind you of a croissant

If you don’t think you’ll polish it off within a day or two, then slice, wrap in Saran, wrap in foil, and freeze

Take it out in the morning to defrost on the counter

Let me know how yours turns out.

6 responses to “effin’ White Bread

  1. I too follow the Artisan in 5 method and had problems with keeping if fresh. What I’ve taken to doing is slicing the entire loaf once it’s cooled and putting the entire sliced loaf in a bag and putting it in the freezer. In the morning I just pull out a couple slices and pop them in the toaster.

  2. You really don’t need the sugar in this recipe – the dough will rise without it and it will be much healthier. Have a look at Dan Lepard’s “easy white bread” http://www.danlepard.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=2593 which is really easy and works a treat.

  3. Nice- I’m a big fan of Artisan in 5- I don’t buy bread at the store anymore.

    • I love homemade bread, but I have issues with it going bad quickly. After a day or so it starts to get that dried out sorta texture. Kind of forces me to eat more bread so as to prevent any waste, but that’s bad for the waist lol <—corny

    • you can use a cookie sheet or a pizza stoneThere is a style caleld pull apart you make small balls and then squish into a round flat loafthink about french breadit all just bread dough

Leave a Reply

