Panko Roasted Asparagus

I know I can hear you…”Joe, you have all these entrees, where the heck are the sides?!”

Panko roasted asparagus are my go to side for almost any dish. In my house we refer to the crispy panko crumbs as “crunchies” as in, “babe, sprinkle mad crunchies on my asparagus!” The crumbs are infused with some Pecorino Romano and seasoning then bound together with good quality evoo. Off the hook! The side dish is lite, healthy, fun, delicious, and EASY! You’re gonna love this one…

Prep time: 5mins
Cook time: 15mins
Serves: 4-6

Get yourself:

  • 1 Bunch asparagus
  • 2T Extra virgin olive oil
  • 2/3C Plain or seasoned Panko
  • 1T Pecorino Romano
  • 1t Dry mustard
  • 1t Garlic Powder
  • .5t Pepper
  • .25t Kosher salt
  • Ziploc bag
  • Preheated oven to 450F

Printable Recipe

Prep the asparagi…

Break off ends

Rinse

Dry

Add olive oil first

You want oil to adhere to stalks, but they shouldn’t be sopping wet

I used ~2T evoo, you may need more

Eyeball it (best kitchen gadget you have)

Next, toss your dry ingredients into a Ziploc bag

Shake it like a salt shaker…

Shake it like a Polaroid pictureeeeeeeeee

Drop ’em onto a foil lined baking tray

Drizzle a lil evoo over stalks for good luck

Make sure crunchies are evenly dispersed over asparagus…

Bake in 450F oven for 15mins

The asparagus should be bright green and still have a bite

Don’t overcook until they wilt…

…not cool…

Crispy, golden, crunchy, savory, cheesy, asparagusy

You never thought a side dish could be so…

GOOOOOOOOOOOOOD!

13 responses to “Panko Roasted Asparagus

  1. Pingback: asparagus, a dozen ways « SARAH STUDER

  2. I made this for dinner it was really dry. But in theory it was Good. Maybe more olive oil. I made mushroom chicken with it so the sauce from that helped. I love asparagus anyway!

    • Hey Deb-

      Definitely more olive oil and be sure to dress the stalks with oil first, don’t dump them into the bag with panko and then dump the oil in, the panko will jut absorb it. Like I said in the post, “I used ~2T evoo, you may need more” I would go upwards of 1/4C oil (4T).

      Thanks for stopping by!

      Joe

  3. I made this tonight & loved it -thanks!

  4. hi joe! this looks really interesting! i will definately have to try it!!! you have a bunch of good looking recipes that i will be trying. thanks for sharing!

  5. I love the extra crunchiness of Panko and asparagus happens to be my top fav. veggie. This would be a perfect lunch for me!

  6. You’re right – never seen (at least) asparagus this good! I just have to try this!! Thanks for posting such a great recipe 🙂

  7. Nice recipe. Gorgeous photos!

  8. As usual – a yummy suggestion! We eat a lot of asparagus, this will be a great variation!

  9. I love asparagus and this looks Delicious! I also like shaking thinks like a Polaroid picture so I might just have to make this so I can do that:)

  10. Yum! I do not care what people say but I like asparagus many ways! This looks fantastic!

  11. I am such a fan of panko. In my opinion, it’s a better alternative to bread crumbs. I have everything I need to try this dish tonight. Thank you!

  12. Great recipe! We absolutely love asparagus as well. Did them sauteed with garlic and shallots last night. Also do a baked version with good parm.

Leave a Reply

