Tilapia Oreganata

Gotta switch things up a bit…can’t always be eating meat and pasta…at least that’s what Mom says. Tilapia is a great white fleshed fish that takes well to any preparation and when cooked properly is flaky and velvety. I like to make most of my fish Oreganata style, which is simply fish encrusted with seasoned breadcrumbs and baked. I’ve been on a Panko kick lately so when I came across the Tilapia I immediately thought about using Panko instead of only regular seasoned breadcrumbs…I’m glad I did…you will be too…

Prep time: 15mins
Cook time: 20mins
Serves: 4

Get yourself:

  • 4 Fresh Tilapia fillets
  • .5C Panko
  • .25C Seasoned bread crumbs
  • .5C Pecorino-Romano grated
  • 1.5T Fresh Parsley chopped
  • 8 Cloves roasted garlic
  • 1t Dried oregano
  • .5t Garlic powder
  • 2T Extra virgin olive oil
  • .5C White wine (I used Pinot Grigio)
  • .5 Fresh lemon, juiced
  • 4T Butter, melted
  • 1/8t Kosher salt
  • .5t Black pepper
  • Preheat oven to 350F

Printable Recipe

Grab some thick fresh fillets and dry thoroughly

Rub 2 cloves of roasted garlic into each fillet

The garlic will melt right into the flesh

Don’t be too rough though you’ll smoosh the flesh…

…nice-n-easy…

Pop open a bottle of white

Pour a  glass, make sure it tastes good…

…get back to cooking…

Drizzle some olive oil in a Pyrex large enough to hold all of the fish

Pour the wine into Pyrex

Crumb mix:

Combine breadcrumbs, cheese, oregano, garlic powder, salt, pepper, and parsley (save a little parsley for garnish)

Mix it all up

Now add the lemon juice and olive oil

Stir

Mixture should be crumbly NOT pasty

Lightly pack the crumb mix on top of fillets

Note: you are not dredging the fish

Drizzle the melted butter directly over the fillets

Bake uncovered in a 350F oven for ~20mins

Check after 15mins by pulling at the flesh with the tines of a fork

Flesh will flake off in layers when cooked

Crumbs should take on a nice golden hue

Serve Tilapia over a bed of sautéed spinach

Light, buttery, velvety, zesty, garlic-y

If you’ve been meaning to eat more fish, well, here’s an excuse…

Enjoy!

10 responses to “Tilapia Oreganata

  1. I would love to make this tonight…just unsure of the measurements when you have.5C is it a 1/5 of a cup? and all the measurements with (.) I am not sure how to measure out those, Please help;) Thanks, Im a novice here;)

  2. WOW Joe …. I don’t even eat Talapia & I want it after reading & veiwing … your are absolutley incredible!

  3. I’m curious as to how this would taste on whole fish–I’m thinking it would be awesome with sardines.

    Great photos!

  4. Wait. Wait. Why CAN’T it be you always eating meat and pasta? Some of us LIKE your diet =) The talapia looks awesome-nicely done. Love panko too..cooks up a little lighter. Bravo! Congrats on the Tastespotting recognition!

  5. Tilapia is my favorite fish. Your photos as usual make the food look great. I can’t wait to try out this recipe. You always inspire me brother. Keep up the great work.

  6. This looks delicious! And did you know this entry was on Tastespotting? 🙂

  7. It looks absolutely delicious! I have tilapia in the freezer and all the rest of the ingredients too. Love using the panko! Great recipe, even if I’ve never heard of orenganta! Thanks!

  8. Man that looks good. Love the wine bottle! I have got to find that label!
    Shamrocks and Shenanigans

Leave a Reply

